Rwanda Visa Process

Rwanda Visa Process

Want to visit Rwanda? The land of a thousand hills.But do not know where to start from to obtain the visa? Below are all the requirements that you will need for the Rwanda visa process.

Requirements for entry into Rwanda

  1. Passport: All visitors’ passports should be valid for a minimum of six months with at least one blank page.
  2. Visa: Obtain the visa required.
  3. Requirement of Yellow fever vaccination card from World Health Organization (WHO)  if you’re travelling from these countries; Angola, Argentina, Benin, Bolivia, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Colombia, Congo, Ivory Coast, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ecuador, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, French Guiana, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Senegal, Sierra Leone, North and South Sudan, Suriname, Togo, Trinidad, Uganda, Venezuela.

In order to travel to Rwanda, you may or may not need a visa depending on where you come from. Below are different types of Visas;

  1. If you are a citizen of the East African Community (EAC), you shall be given entry into the country and free of charge visa on arrival for six months maximum. The six EAC countries in this category include; Burundi, South Sudan, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania and Kenya)
  2. If you are a citizen of any of the following countries, you will be given a free of charge visa on arrival for three months maximum. These countries include; Angola, Benin, Central African Republic, Chad, Ivory Coast, DRC, Indonesia, Philippines, The Federation of Saint Christopher and Nevis, Ghana, Guinea, Haiti, Mauritius, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Sao Tome and Principe and Qatar.
  3. Starting 1st January 2018, Rwanda has proclaimed a new system. This states that for all citizens who are not visa exempted, there is also an option of applying for your visa application and paying online or on arrival. You have to apply for yourself, no one is authorized to apply on your behalf. It allows all visitors travelling worldwide to be issued a visa on arrival for a month maximum. The visa fees shouldn’t go beyond 50USD for single entry and 70 USD for multiple entries.
  4. Rwandans with dual nationality living overseas, can travel to Rwanda using a Rwandan identity card, without paying any visa fees.
  5. The Government of Rwanda declares that individuals with Diplomatic and Service passports have a visa waiver agreement with Gabon, India, Israel, Djibouti, Guinea, Ethiopia, Turkey and Morocco.
  6. Individuals of the COMESA (Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa) Member States get visa upon arrival (prescribed fee) valid for three months.
  7. Individuals that are part of the commonwealth, African Union and Francophone member states get free visa on arrival for a month maximum.
  8. Travelers who want to go through Rwanda, Kenya and Uganda simultaneously for tourism purposes can apply for the East Africa Tourist Visa (EATV). This done on arrival online at IREMBO or from Rwanda Diplomatic missions abroad. If obtaining the EATV before travelling, your first entry is the country in which you applied in. The EATV costs 100USD for a period of three months with multiple entry (if remaining within the three countries).

The visitor and East Africa Tourist Visa cannot be used for employment. However if one wants to extend his/her visa it should be applied for when the first visa is still valid.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Be the first to comment.